At Home in the City

Real Estate, Design, and Life in Toronto

Wardrobe Purging Checklist

This winter we renovated our upstairs bathroom and bedroom closet. Since we had to essentially “move out” of our upper floor, it gave me a chance to really go through what I owned.  I evaluated it based on use, fit, age and job appropriateness, and how much I loved and wore it.

 

1. DOES IT SUIT MY LIFESTYLE?

I had changed jobs in the last year and now worked primarily from home, meaning that I rarely wore “office wear” anymore. Instead I found myself mainly wearing jeans and t-shirts. I also found that my new go-to client outfits were cute quick to pull on dresses that I’d purchased in the UK.

2. DO I LOVE IT?

I had a lot of “it will do for work” clothes that I didn’t love and basically only served as inexpensive options to fill out my office attire. Not that I only really needed one or two nice outfits, the things I was always “meh” about went.

3. IS IT AGE APPROPRIATE?

My friend and I were recently discussing the old t-shirts we had from from Hot Topic in the 90’s and wondering ‘were they always that short’?  The answer was yes, and that we’re not 20 anymore and therefore shouldn’t be wearing them.

4. DO I USE IT?

If I hadn’t worn it in years, it went out. Now, after 9 months, spanning winter spring and summer, a tropical vacation, a trip to NYC and a trip to Europe, if I haven’t found a use for it, I probably won’t.

5. DOES IT FIT, AND IS IT COMFORTABLE?

This went from everything from clothes from when I was thinner, to things like bras or underwear that always bugged me. If they were uncomfortable or just didn’t fit, they went out. I asked myself, if I lost the weight, would I wear them, or would I go shopping? Answer: I’d go shopping.

6. DO I HAVE SOMETHING ELSE SIMILAR THAT I ALWAYS REACH FOR INSTEAD?

How many black cardigans or grey t-shirts do I need? Things start becoming a uniform after a while, and you find yourself drawn to the same item in stores that you have at home. Instead of buying another of the same thing, maybe wash the other one more often and save the money for something else.

7. IS IT DAMAGED?

If it just needs a button, but has ‘just needed a button’ for two years, clearly it’s not a priority or well loved item. Get rid of it.

8. IF I BUMPED INTO A  CLIENT  WHILE WEARING IT, WOULD I FEEL THE NEED TO EXPLAIN OR JUSTIFY WHY I WAS WEARING IT?

If you’re embarrassed to wear it in public, it should go. That’s not to say you need to dress up to go to the 711, but you also shouldn’t be thinking of the excuse you’d give your co-worker who lives in the neighborhood if you happen to end up in the snack aisle together.

 

What I was left with was a smaller wardrobe full of things I actually wear, and the funny thing is that I’m less interested in buying new things now that everything in my closet is something I actually like wearing, and since I can actually see it all, I do!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2014 by in cleaning, fashion, Interior Design, minimalism, organizing, purge.
